Natural Beauty: Dry Shampoo

[ok, I can’t promise your hair will look this cute after using my recipe, but it sure will be a lot easier to do your hair up all fancy!]

I thought I would start the weekend off with a easy + natural project. You see, I have hate washing my hair. Maybe it’s because I have always had really long hair (even when I was little, my hair was almost as long as I was!) or because I know how damaging frequent washing can be to your mane, but I try to shampoo only twice a week. Honestly, even hairdressers will advise you to wash your hair every other day at most and the longer your can go between washes (and between using heated stylers, if that’s your kind of thing), the better shape your hair will look and feel.

Alright, so now that we are on the same page with hairwashing, what can we do about those in-between days when your locks are looking a little too oily for a non-hat day? Dry shampoo, of course! These days, dry shampoo can be found everywhere, from the cheap spray cans at Walgreen’s to the pricey Bumble & Bumble colored powders. But all of those store-bought products contain nasty chemicals – and who wants those?

So here I come to the rescue! Dry shampoo was one of the last things I was clinging on to from my non-natural life so when I made this (and it actually worked), I jumped for joy.

 

NATURAL DRY SHAMPOO:

  • 3 tablespoons arrowroot powder (an herbal alternative to cornstarch, found in the spice aisle)
  • 3 tablespoons cocoa/cacao (only for light brown hair and darker – otherwise, simply swap with more arrowroot)
  • a few drops of essential oil (vanilla, peppermint or sweet orange would be great)

Simply mix all ingredients until thoroughly combined and store in a small container. Using a spice bottle would work perfectly, since it allows for more control with using the product.

And it is that easy, a natural dry shampoo that soaks up grease from your hair and smells a-MANE-zing 🙂

 

[photo from the beautiful hair tutorial series by A Cup of Jo]

 

 

Leave a Reply

